Cannot display support

sonnichs

Posted · Cannot display support

I am new to Cura and this is my first post. I have read thru most of the doc and a lot makes sense. However I am trying to add supports to my object and then, trying to display these supports. I have "support" turned on in the preferences via the "defaults". 

I am playing with "layer view" and " Colour Scheme" and I see "Helpers" turned on but I still cannot see the supports, which I believe should be in light blue.

Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Thanks

Fritz

This is a "generic" problem not applicable to a particular design. I sketched up a simple STL to show an "overhang" --I want to display the supporting structures that were generated. I cannot get them to appear. I assume that 

1) I need to turn on the "generate support" feature and I did

2) Need to turn on the display feature. I think I did this as shown in the screenshots

Thanks

Fritz

Capture.JPG

Capture2.JPG

You don't enable support by clicking it in "setting visibility".  that just makes the feature visible.

You have to actually enable support.

In the upper right where it says "standard quality" - click that and you get more options.  At that point you can add support.  Also you can click "custom" to get even more options.

Again, "support in preferences" only sets the visibility of the feature.  It doesn't enable support.  If you uncheck that in preferences then you can't turn support off.  And you can't turn support on.  Because the setting is hidden.  If you enable it in preferences it doesn't enable support.  It just makes it visible.  That's why in preferences it is called Setting Visibility.

In addition you have to enable generate support.  You can see below I typed "generate" in the search box and checked "generate support".

1863882257_Screenshotfrom2021-03-2021-05-05.png.49c17bee86120876968ee320767cede2.png