Zero Print Time on Ultimaker S5

Posted · Zero Print Time on Ultimaker S5

My company semi-recently bought an Ultimaker S5 pro-bundle. We had planned on using it mostly for fixtures, and have since printed some rudimentary parts with success. We have taken on the assignment of 3D printing a furnace gasket. We bought some TPC to prototype the parts, yet when I went to print it, the print time registered 0 on the printer. I thought this was odd, but just let the printer go and obviously it did not print anything. When I looked back at my Cura (4.8) slice, it said 8 hours and 45 minutes. Does anyone have previous experience with an issue like this?

I am still a beginner with 3D printing, but I have done some troubleshooting for the printer in the meantime. I first tried using a different model, one that I had printed before, and that did not work. I tried using different materials, reverting to Cura 4.6, new models for parts and reverting the printer's firmware back from 6.3 to 6.2.

Is there an obvious solution that I am missing? If there is, it should be easier to find on Google!

Did you print through USB flash drive, digital factory, or direct network?

I recommend USB if you are having issues because then you can bring the "gcode" file (I think it's ".ufp") back to a computer and check that the file isn't corrupt (for example if you pulled the flash drive out before it printed or if the file is corrupt on your S5's internal "hard drive").

Then you can post the ufp file here so we can look at it.

You can rename a ufp file to ".zip" and then it will open in your operating system (mac,pc,linux) and you can find the actual gcode file inside.  If the print job is "empty" then the gcode file sill be very small.  < 10k.  

• Like 1