Useless maneuvers while printing?

Posted (edited) · Useless maneuvers while printing?

Hi there,

I'm new to 3d printing. I noticed that during an x-axis print maneuver, my printer would stop at a certain point, move along the y-axis without extruding filament, return back and continue the x-axis maneuver. There was seemingly no purpose to the maneuver because no filament was being extruded. The steps are marked in yellow in the attached picture. This resulted in an artifact in the print marked A.

Any ideas as to why this was happening?

Thanks!

davidramiro v1.4.6 firmware (Marlin 1.1.9)

Anycubic Mega S

Cura 4.8.0

Manjaro

https://imgur.com/a/CEL9bzO

Group 1.png

garbage_Box_Left.gcode Box_Left.stl

Edited by bassamanator

Posted · Useless maneuvers while printing?

I'm guessing this is a z layer change. 

But have you looked at you model in x ray mode to see if there is any areas that are problematic? Or looked at movements in layer view to see what kind of movement this is?

So I estimate that this was occurring at layers 120 to 200. I looked at the gcode and I don't see this maneuver taking place. Does the gcode contain ALL movements of the nozzle?

I don't get it :/

Edited by bassamanator

The gcode contains all the machine information (Temps, Accel, Jerk, etc) and ALL the moves.  Printers don't "ad-lib".

As Labern says, that does look like the Zseam.  The settings for the Zseam are under "Shell".  By setting it to "User Specified" and "Back Right" (any corner really) and "Hide Seam" it will get put someplace a lot less noticeable.  There is always a Zseam.  It shows up in Preview as a line of short travel moves going up the part.  A couple of other things that have an effect are Combing Mode and Outer Wall Wipe distance.  They can cause extra movement at the Z seam location.  Retract at Layer Change can cause blobs at the Zseam because a prime occurs there.