Is there a way to the disable the prompt asking if I want to retry aborted prints?

silven

Posted (edited) · Is there a way to the disable the prompt asking if I want to retry aborted prints?

Every now and then I want to immediately cancel a print I've just sent from Cura to the printer (e.g. wrong config, wrong model, etc.).

I can abort the print from Cura, but for me to be able to print a new one, I have to walk to my printer which is in another room just to select "No"  on the printer when it asks if I want to "retry" the aborted print. 

Is there a way to disable this prompt, or perhaps answer the prompt via Cura or the cloud?

I have a UM3. I tried googling but my keywords are too common (cancel, retry, restart, aborted, etc.). I have some background with programming/networking (though not with printers), so feel free to suggest solutions even if it requires me to SSH into the printer and edit some config files.

EDIT: Just now I remembered the printer has an API. There's a "PUT /print_job/state" but I think that only aborts/pauses the current print job, but doesn't affect the prompt. Is there another endpoint I can use?

Edited by silven

Posted · Is there a way to the disable the prompt asking if I want to retry aborted prints?

It is not possible via config or API.

But you can change nearly everything when you ssh into the printer and change the process. It takes some time to search and find the right file and also how to prevent the message but it should be possible.

Posted · Is there a way to the disable the prompt asking if I want to retry aborted prints?
    52 minutes ago, Smithy said:

it should be possible.

But you have to redo all such changes each time you update the firmware, and it is possible to "brick" your printer by changing files on it.

41 minutes ago, ahoeben said:

But you have to redo all such changes each time you update the firmware, and it is possible to "brick" your printer by changing files on it.