Temperature Tower Gaps Failure using manufacturer recommended temperature. Normal?

Posted (edited) · Temperature Tower Gaps Failure using manufacturer recommended temperature. Normal?

Bare with me, I am still new to this. 
I am getting bad layer adhesion with this filament
So recently started trying to tune temperature for my Formfutura volcano PLA. The manufacturer settings recommend between 220 and 255. I set up this temperature tower:
cube 245 at the bottom is temperature 220 since the first layer I wanted to print the lowest temp to ensure a stable base like the maker who made this tower reccomended. 
You can see it is by far the best at 220 , I had hoped to print a tiny bit higher to get better layer adhesion like I have read online, since when I printed a test part it felt a tad brittle (I am printing spiralize)

I am printing at a layer height of 0.1. I considered printing more shells to help with the part I want to print with this in mind, but I was super surprised how gappy the print was based on the suggested range. Even at 220 the lowest range I am getting gaps.....but oddly the 245 cube (actually 220) does not have the same issue as the top 220 cube.

Any ideas if my settings are the culprit? here is my 3mf file to hopefully show I am not doing anything out of the ordinary? Cura defaults settings for 0.1.

I did find it odd cura sets the line width to 0.35 by default. I thought it was meant to be the nozzle size usually? I do notice underextrustion on the second and third layers (first looks mostly ok but that might be due to the first layer height at 0.27?)

At a loss what to try next. Too inexperienced to know why this happens

222431790_276379624255346_7988260244631344485_n.jpg

221453065_521024595685245_736919935601471637_n (1).jpg

219856726_338454567929034_5779066179201562523_n.jpg

219424608_801192750553756_4237324917463501168_n.jpg

UM2E_DiyProJames_Temp_Tower_PETG_220-245.3mf

Edited by Speckles