overextrusion using 2 extruders (pla with pva)

b16ior

Posted · overextrusion using 2 extruders (pla with pva)

Hi all

i'm a french student in electronical engineering and for my tutorship project i have to print a reflectarray (telecommunication)

this project needs extreme printing accuracy and i have trouble finding the right settings. Also i'm working on a ultimaker S5 with ultimaker PVA and generic PLA 

so the main probleme i have is when printing with pla (AA 0.4) and pva (BB 0.4) to support my structure.

What's happening is that when the printer is changing materials lets say from PLA to PVA ,a bit of PLA is still coming out of the extruder, so when changing again from pva to pla it puts too much materials. I've tried the setting "retract at layer change" but didn't get good results

here is some picture so you can understand better 

So this is a print whith PLA support and i'm pretty satisfied with the quality but wasn't able to remove my structure from the support (it's very thin so it must have melted together) 

IMG_20211118_194601_resized_20211126_102936990.thumb.jpg.22d22cf59590e7c1080d5c62024cedb4.jpg

so i've tried with PVA but this is when the probleme of overextrusion occured 

IMG_20211118_194907_resized_20211126_102936835.thumb.jpg.4f817fdb20e7ea366856ac24c5d35fdc.jpgIMG_20211118_194923_resized_20211126_102936638.thumb.jpg.a800d7758b4a920c9d2a4c573e7026b3.jpgIMG_20211118_194958_resized_20211126_102937091.thumb.jpg.f15166674956ce24c5dedbbf64a332e7.jpg

as you can see there is some overextrusion when changing material so when changing materiel it create a sort of blobs on the sructure 

here is the strucure after dissolving pva as you can see the quality is far from the first print when using just one extruder 

IMG_20211118_235111_BURST001_COVER_resized_20211126_102937174.thumb.jpg.f0ab08437f17634769f300bae2b443df.jpg