Strange diversion at bottom of left 3d object

remyhx

Posted · Strange diversion at bottom of left 3d object

Hi,

While printing a cube (Petg Ultimaker with my S3) the first 3 a 4 mm’s differ from the last ones. (Left model). Somekind of step is made, although it’s not designed. 

Could this be due to the printing of the lid at the right (comparable height), the model looks almost like modified by heat. 

I am a beginner. 

08194DBA-783A-4F43-94BA-C23031A92EBF.thumb.jpeg.cc4c06e6d6c37c237584fecd60b7bbd0.jpeg

AF3A8650-F81B-4953-B430-5B50878DB621.thumb.jpeg.701850ade8b72912781c800f579e42e9.jpeg

With the models loaded in Cura and the settings the way you want - use the "File | Save Project" command and post the 3mf file here.  It's tough trying to figure things out from photos only.

That is odd.  The box bottom in your images doesn't match either your slice preview, or my slice preview.

I tried to force the issue by playing with different settings, but I couldn't get the problem to show up (in the preview).

Maybe @gr5 has a take on this?

I'm not sure.  I've seen that pattern a lot - it's usually caused by heat.  It goes away as you get farther from the heated bed.  But why doesn't the lid do it?  Well it does.  It's just not as obvious.  But for many materials you need the heated bed above the softening temp of the material being printed (not sure if I ever printed ASA) so that it won't warp off the print bed.  I'm not sure if I remember right but I think UM recommends print sheets for ASA?  Or am I confusing with some other material.  If you use print sheets you can probably lower the bed temp by 10 or 20C to see if that pattern goes away.

I guess I would print a small test cube.  Smaller models don't have as serious problems warping/lifting off the bed.  Maybe 10mm cube.  Print with existing settings and then lower print bed by 10C and try again and then lower another 10C and try again.  That pattern should go away if it is heat related.