Cause(s) for print failure?

jam896549

Posted · Cause(s) for print failure?

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to 3d printing. I printed a few premade models from the web with varying success, fiddled a little with printer settings, made my own smaller models/prints and decided to go for a more complex print.

For that I made my own model in Blender, imported into Cura 5.1.0, applied my usual print settings, did a few tweaks and started the print.

The first few layers looked good, although I was accepting a little warping on the far left end (x=75, y=220, z=0). I noticed that on earlier prints too, but I decided to keep going (big mistake?).

However, on the next morning (after about 12hrs of printing) I encountered a print that has gone well for the most part, but then totally failed.

I decided to stop the print at this point.

Printer: Anycubic Mega X

Filament: Basicfil PLA black

Bed Temp: 60°C

Printing Temp: 190°C (a little higher on the initial layers)

This is my model in Cura:

cura_model_front.thumb.jpg.df085860d54796b85473f2c7635b4d77.jpg

cura_model_back.thumb.jpg.77ab71b2e879f69e626875bf578d0b51.jpg

Thats the warping on the "far left corner":

warped_corner.thumb.jpg.0d086d5a6969d2ca9c32414084432dc6.jpg

And those are the topmost layers of the print:

topmost_layers.thumb.jpg.3ab72f0f800755de78827101aa44555c.jpg

topmost_layers_2.thumb.jpg.b2d71fdb724495485e15fe62bb5e0617.jpg

Eventually, the left half of the print has detached from the print bed and shifted a little.

At least that's what I decipher from this (and also the previous) area of the print:

shifted_layers.thumb.jpg.b583a7f072e62a773e21414677639e22.jpg

These are the questions going on in my head:

• Is it solely a problem of the print, or could/should I also do some improvements on the model? The lower parts of the walls (between the cutouts of the box) are rather thin and maybe too flimsy?
  • Is it only a problem of bed adhesion? Could that alone lead to the weird printing issues?