Optimize retraction settings to prevent rework by hand after print

Almgandhii

Posted · Optimize retraction settings to prevent rework by hand after print

Hey everyone,

I am quite new to 3D-Printing and I have some problems with filament threads in non printed areas. Attached you can find some pictures of the problem and also my travel settings. In the moment I have to put in quite some work by hand after printing, but since I will have to print hundered of those parts in the future, I want to optimize the printing as much as possible. Can I solve this problems by changing my travel settings? Or do I have to solve the problem constructively eg. by enlarging the space between parts and also changing the parts itself?

Let me know if I need to provide more informations.

Thanks a lot for the support!

printing_problem.PNG

settings_all.PNG

I would turn off retract at layer change.  That caused a lot of ugliness and underextrusions for me but that's not your issue as it would only wreck one of those parts.

The combination of the two settings Maximum Retraction Count and Minimum Extrusion Distance Window can prevent retractions from happening if set wrong.  I think that is fine but to be sure, look at your part in PREVIEW mode and set color scheme to "Line Type" and make sure "travels" is checked.  If you do all that then you can see the travel (non printing) moves in blue.  Light blue lines are retraction moves, dark blue (solid dark blue - very blue) lines are non-retracting.  Make sure the areas where you have the stringing is light blue (meaning you have retraction).  I suspect you do.

Turn off z hop when retracted.  z hop causes all manner of issues if you don't have a delta printer (it sounds like this is an S5).