Ultimaker 3 suddenly no display and unresponsive button

peteruithoven
Go to solution Solved by SCA_B,

Posted (edited) · Ultimaker 3 suddenly no display and unresponsive button

Out of nowhere the display remains black when turning on my Ultimaker 3. The rotary button does not light up. Even after 4 minutes nothing happens. Clicking the rotary button does not trigger a sound.
I do notice when I turn it on a fan briefly spins and a red light turns on on the bottom near the LAN port.

I can't find it on my local network (It's connected over ethernet).

Nothing special happened before this happened. I've used the machine a few days before without any issues.

I didn't find any related topics on this forum.

I've never done this before, but I've removed the panels on the bottom too see whether there was something weird going on.

I notice that on the bigger PCB there is also a green light on, next to "NC".

IMG_20230215_185001-2000.thumb.jpg.3d156fdbecd27d880a7ae078cef275fb.jpgIMG_20230215_184949-2000.thumb.jpg.0af0c1682736a036a7205fe339772030.jpgIMG_20230215_184942-2000.thumb.jpg.39306f3541cd85f56408b7028f0ff03a.jpgIMG_20230215_184935-2000.thumb.jpg.c27747b88e2c083f6640e10693d7c1d1.jpgIMG_20230215_184854-2000.thumb.jpg.ee468a68619932e259561b62db478b3f.jpg

I'm in contact with UltiMaker support, who advised reinstalling the firmware following Firmware recovery: Ultimaker 3.
I've tried this, but the leds don't respond as expected, not like the 3 possible states described in the manual.
At the beginning I'm turning on the Ultimaker, after ±9 seconds Led 1 blinks (but not really slowly). Led 2 and 3 just stay on, even after many more minutes. See video:

The display indicates that it's installing firmware, and that there are 2 minutes remaining, but even after 15 minutes there is no change. The display stills shows this message, led 1 is off, led 2 and 3 remain on. At least we know the display itself still works.