Differing behavior of 5.4 and 5.3

Pridanc
Go to solution Solved by GregValiant,

Posted · Differing behavior of 5.4 and 5.3

I am using CURA 5.4 today so most words stem from 5.4 until noted later on when I tried 5.3

Wanting to print some small bits for a project to verify settings etc, I gave it a go.  Using PLA as the simple go-to I pushed print.

Doing this test print, I found the parts curling up and getting knocked off. Hmmm

Upon closer inspection, I noticed that the print also looked sketch on top of the curling (warping) so I was batting 1000 here. Not happy as I'd never had PLA warp before I was at a bit of a loss.

Not one to casually toss in the towel I created a test matrix (for settings) of individual parameters to see if I could get the print to:

a) stick to the bed and

b) look better. 

As time and tests went on (4-5 min per print) I didn't seem to be making any real headway but hadn't reached the end of my test matrix so was not worried.

As a relative newbie, I've come to this forum in the past with questions for my education and along the way y'all have taught me to look harder at a slice in preview as there can be all kinds of hidden bits of information in the slice when viewing it up close. So I followed that advice again.