Problems with leveling plate - solved

celso-santos

Posted · Problems with leveling plate - solved

Hi guys

I'm an absolute newbie and just got my Ultimaker 2 sent to my office in Rio. I would like to call your attention to some small problems with its beautiful User Manual:

1. I followed every step indicated in the order they appear in the manual, and all of a sudden I observed in page 17 that we would start leveling the build plate but nothing was said about the glass.

2. I then positioned the glass and kept on reading. Just when I had some problem leveling the plate and I went to Maintenance in page 33, I discovered how to correctly assemble the glass plate. Of course I didn't take the recommended steps because they were not displayed in the right point of the explanation. So, pls. before page 17 inform how to correctly install the glass plate.

3. When I was leveling the plate, one of the screws (the front right one) was totally unscrewed and even then I couldn't level the plate. What should I do?

4. I observed that there is no stop button. In a determined moment when I wanted to go back to leveling I realized the I couldn't. I had to turn off the machine and then start everything again.

What am I doing wrong?

regards

Newbie from burning hot Rio

Celso

When the manual was made (and I'm assuming they printed up a couple of thousand) the glass plate was already installed IIRC so that's why it's not mentioned.

During the first step when you're leveling are you using the menu-knob on the front of the machine to raise the plate? In the first step the build plate will stop quite far away from the nozzle, too far to just use the thumb screws to adjust. That's why you use the menu-knob in the first step to raise the build plate so that it's a mm from the nozzle.

Before trying again tighten the little thumbscrews again so that they are somewhere inbetween fully tight and too loose, that way you will have plenty of room to fine tune.