T-800 Build Thread

braddock

Posted · T-800 Build Thread

I thought I'd start a thread to document this process. No parts printed yet, still in modeling.

I have some dental acrylic teeth i'll be using, so probably wont print these teeth, they're just in there so it doesn't look odd.

Working on the Jaw, it's currently all symmetrical, I'll do a pass for the non symmetrical detail later.

endo 01

Awesome to see you making progress on this. I was actually looking for the proper teeth just yesterday in preparation for you releasing this. Didn't really find anything though but I'll keep looking.

Thanks mate.

Does anyone have any experience with Animatronics? I'd love to incorporate eye movement, and maybe head movement too.

They guy who made the video certainly does ;)

I have some experience with mechatronics, but it's not my everyday work and I wouldn't consider myself an expert at all.

It depends on how complex you wan't your movements to be. Turning the head left and right is trivial. Add nodding and it gets more complex, but still well doable.

Making eyes move like in the video is certainly not trivial. With some research it should be doable though - 3D printing makes research in these fields very convenient :)

/btw:

Needless to say, but that skull looks AWESOME!

Ah, I thought you were going for the actual Arnold set :) But I guess most people wouldn't notice the difference either way so I'll go with a set of those. Thanks :)

No, I've seen a few done with these and they look good, I don't care if it's not an exact match for Arnold's Teeth. The teeth really make a big difference in the overall look, I'd rather have real looking generic teeth over not so real looking Arnold Teeth.

The other option would be to model a more accurate Arnold shape, print them, then mold and cast in Dental resin... but, not sure it's worth the added time.