Solid top for support

isphording90

Posted · Solid top for support

Hey,

a few months back I started a thread about intelligent ways for creating support material based on my experience with a printer from stratasys. Since I'm no programmer and can't help with implementing those features I think these features would be hard to take on. But there is one setting that could be implemented with relative ease I think.

The slicer from stratasys gives the support a solid top of 1 to 3 layers (can be set in the settings).

For solouble support material this feature is just golden and guarantees a nice finish of the outer shell of the main object. And the support material dont have to be so dense to get "near perfect" results.

So Daid, would it be possible to get this feature in Cura or is it to hard to implement?

Greetings,

Lukas

I'm using HIPS at the moment and orange oil (or D-Limonen) as solvent. Its perfect for use with ABS and PLA because there is enough anhesion between the different types of plastics so everything stays put but also there is no real melting reaction between those and the objects stay seperated from one another.

And with its easy handling, a same pricepoint like ABS/PLA and a solvent that is easy to get and also not very expencive (and good smelling by the way ;) ) its by far the best support material i've ever had! :)

• 2 years later...

Hoping to revive this topic, I see it is 2 years old.