Unexpected printer output

cubic

Posted · Unexpected printer output

Hi All,

I am using an Ultimaker 1 and Cura 14.07. I have some experience printing either self designed objects (using FreeCAD on Linux) or Thingiverse things like gears. All well, never had unexpected results. But today I designed a “mushroom”, so a 5mm stem (stick) 5mm tall and a 12mm football on top.

I was a bit anxious for where the ball should start widening from the stem since it is an overhang but since the subsequent layers extend only slightly I hoped it would go.

I was more than surprised to find in the printer a shape where the stem is OK (5mm diameter) but then the next layer, where the minimal overhang should begin, is 9.2mm diameter. The next layers remain the same size until the ball becomes bigger than 9.2mm and from then on the rest of the ball is OK.

The imported STL file looks OK in Cura. Inspecting it on a layer level show nothing special. But the output is remarkable because this is quite an overhang and it looks good but is far from what was intended.

Thanks for your thoughts

Cub

as shown in Cura:

incura

and this is the result:

printout

Picture please! Click "gallery" on the top left of this page, then "upload" button, then after uploading start new post and click "my media" next to smile icon.

Good, it is a project in its own to get a picture in the forum, but here we are:

after importing the .STL into cura I saw:

incura

And this was the result:

printout

Not only is it different, but I would find it understandable if this could not be printed at all due to the large overhang.

Cub.

And a detail of the printing parameters could help too but layer view will most probably show something similar to your output (always check layer view before printing!)