A new bed for the UM2

Posted · A new bed for the UM2

I'm new to 3D printing. This has dis-advantages ( I don't know what I'm doing :???: ) and advantages ( no pre-conceived ideas of how things should be done ).

Having played with the new UM2 for a month or so, it seems a well thought out & put together machine which produces good results ( when you've worked out how to use it!)

The one weak point to my mind, is the bed. It's too flimsy. It narrows at the back edge where maximum leverage can be applied. This is made worse by two cut-outs at the weakest point. I'm sure we've all had prints which self-destruct when the bed judders as the nozzle crosses the fill...So I decided to play:

Original bed

First I tried these two aluminium tee strips. They were fixed with double-sided tape, not ideal but it worked. Before fitting them, I measured the deflection on the outside edge of the table when a weight was added, then measured the deflection after fitting the strips. The deflection was reduced from 0.018" to 0.012". I found a significant improvement, with noticeably less judder. Encouraged, I decided to go for it & make a complete new bed:

New bed

Top face. Note the integral bearing brackets with strengthening buttresses.

New bed

Underside. Strengthening ribs all around. The deflection test showed a reduction to 0.004". So far I've not managed to get any judder, even at high speed. It might be my imagination, but the surface finish also seems better.

The new bed was cast in aluminium, using a pattern printed on the UM2. It had to be made in 6 pieces, which were glued together. This may be a bit extreme, but it shows that anything which stiffens the bed is an improvement!

Cool, did you cast it yourself? Like with sand and a furnace?

Actually, the UM2 bed is considered to be pretty good. In fact, the UMO bed upgrade kit is very similar to the UM2 bed and is considered to be a worthy upgrade.