Ultimaker 2 Firmware for dual extrusion with Simplify3d

KevinMakes

Posted · Ultimaker 2 Firmware for dual extrusion with Simplify3d

So, simplify3D told me that with their software I could indeed go forward with using the dual extruder setup on my ultimaker 2. Turns out that the software they provide does NOT come with firmware to recognize and utilize the second extruder as suggested. So My question to everyone is. Who can point me in the correct direction of the firmware i need. I am not a programmer by any means besides simple apis, and macros, in vb for app. I am in desperate need of getting this up and running I have deadlines to meet, and would be very grateful/ generous to anyone who could come up with working firmware.

• Like 1

You will need to make custom firmware yourself, sorry. It's not that hard and there are marlin builders out there that simplify this.

If they suggested that they have such firmware, you should simply contact simplify3d.

You might want to read the answer @gr5 did on this mod-hack post https://ultimaker.com/en/community/view/10657-a-different-multi-extrusion-approach-um-tool-printhead-changer?page=49#reply-113424

Also, you might find interesting that @ultiarjan made a mod to use this idea on UM2. And indeed it works nice. It's a lot of pages, but it's worth the read. Also on page 27 he posted a Project Summary.

Posted (edited) · Ultimaker 2 Firmware for dual extrusion with Simplify3d

i mixed in the quote from the other thread:

I am trying to set up my ultimaker 2 with the dual extruders. I can put anything together but I am not a programmer by any means. any advice?

Who can point me in the correct direction of the firmware i need.

Sorry, but it highly depends on what you put together...

(i think you don't explained this yet?)

There is a dual extruder version of the UM2 firmware from stock - included in all recent versions of Cura.

You know your hardware setup - you have to decide if it is sufficient for you.

Edit: