Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts
REMAP

Am I too ambitious?

First off, I'm totally new to 3D printing, and this is the model I've designed to print on my UM2 with Cura 15.06.03.

I made the 3D model in TurboCad V21 and converted the STL with Cura. The printed model is truly awful.

I've attached screenshots of the model in TCAD, as seen in the Cura view, and a photo of the printout.

Am I being too ambitious to try creating this model?

5a33104b9e76d_PlaqueSTL.gif.c4712d73adb173a5a5fca072f600ac74.gif

5a33104bb13d1_PlaqueCura.thumb.gif.bc60fb59b3bdf495449d041a53ca556a.gif

5a33104bc5140_PlaquePhoto.thumb.gif.aa637ee27ee1bfacab76f224f57303cc.gif

5a33104b9e76d_PlaqueSTL.gif.c4712d73adb173a5a5fca072f600ac74.gif

5a33104bb13d1_PlaqueCura.thumb.gif.bc60fb59b3bdf495449d041a53ca556a.gif

5a33104bc5140_PlaquePhoto.thumb.gif.aa637ee27ee1bfacab76f224f57303cc.gif

I think that is a bit over ambitious!

This about the width of your nozzle and then the width of apiece of text and you are right at or over the margins.

A few options - scale the whole thing up in Cura - to more or less the width of the buildplate - then the letters are a reasonable size.

The one I would do would be to generate a letters in the CAD programme at different sizes and print that - to see what size is the most successful.

I think I would not use the varying height of extrusion to begin with.

to make it easy you could use numbers that reflect the letter height - eg

which are actually the heights - and then is is really easy to work out which height is working the best.

Then think abut sans serriffed (eg aerial) - (the twirly bits) as the serrifs are very small and demand a change in direction for the printer.

Then set your speed slow (30 or less) and your temp to the lowest possible 208? and see what happens.

You will discover that you have to approach this king of thing gently to find out what the capabilities are, and the one you have started with is very small!

sneak up on it :)