MakerBot vs. Ultimaker 2 Extended

Posted · MakerBot vs. Ultimaker 2 Extended

Hi, age old question. I am new to the industry and my fascination with the same has got me pretty hooked on to start a small prototyping service in my hometown in India. I was looking at some FDM printers and i have narrowed it down to the UM Extended vs. Makerbot 5th Gen.

I also looked at the TAZ4 but it requires manual assembly so it lost a couple of points there. Also, i saw Zortrax.

I am primarily concerned with precision build volume.Moreover, ease of use since i am a beginner.

Please help me take a call on this.

Appreciate it :)

Avoid 5th gen MakerBots like the plague! The 5th Gen replicators have nothing but problems. They are so bad there is a class action lawsuit against MakerBot (Stratasys) for knowingly selling a product that doesn't work. We have a UM Extended as well as 2x UM2s and are very happy with all three. We also have a Replicator 2X which is a generation older than the 5th Gens. Its OK but the Ultimakers are far better.

There are two important things to consider now;

1. Is speed an issue? Zotrax is much slower then the UM2

2. Is the ability to control all settings an issue? The zortrax software doesn't have all the bells and whistles that Cura has.

And another BIG+ for open source like Ultimaker is availability of all drawings, BOM etc, if you even need/want to make any changes or repairs you'll have all the info you need.

Also the Ultimaker community is a great source of information and if anything goes wrong or you want to learn or ask a question, there is always someone willing to help.

What you have to know about "consumer grade" 3D printers, is that there is no such thing as a completely "trouble free" 3D printer in this market. I'd recommend (any) Ultimaker 3D printer because they are pretty well built, and they offer very good printing quality and speed.