3D printer - gaps in top layer

tvel4

Posted · 3D printer - gaps in top layer

Hello!

I'm fairly new to 3D printing and I'm having a bit of trouble. My 3D prints have irregular gaps in between the filament on the top layers-- the rest of the print looks great but that top layer ends up looking pretty spotty with the gaps. Please see attached picture and cura settings. Any suggestions on how I can make my top layer smoother?

Thank you for your help! Excellent community, happy to be on board.

IMG_4385.thumb.JPG.760e5ee273663a01b9c7e5fd122f6df8.JPG

FullSizeRender-1.thumb.jpg.35a20dde28b52ceeffcf80df3c9d6de0.jpg

FullSizeRender.thumb.jpg.c681e626ec7130126f32eacce70c35ef.jpg

IMG_4385.thumb.JPG.760e5ee273663a01b9c7e5fd122f6df8.JPG

FullSizeRender-1.thumb.jpg.35a20dde28b52ceeffcf80df3c9d6de0.jpg

FullSizeRender.thumb.jpg.c681e626ec7130126f32eacce70c35ef.jpg

First, take out a caliper and measure your filament in a bunch of places, calculate the average diameter and enter that into the Diameter box. Then increase your bottom/top thickness to 1.2mm (6 times your layer thickness), and raise your temperature by 5-10 degrees and try that print again.

So I went ahead and replaced my nozzle with a Micro Swiss one and I purchased a caliper and checked on my filament-- once or twice it dipped into 1.74 but I checked about 9-10 places and it seemed to be 1.75 down most of it.  I ran another print last and ended up with about the same result as the first time I ran it.  That top layer still seems to have slight separation between lines of filament.  Are there any settings in Cura that I could experiment with or any other thoughts as to what I might be doing wrong?  Thanks again for any help!

Have you calibrated your extruder to ensure you get 100mm when you ask for 100mm?

You could try a quick print at 110% Flow to see if that closes the gaps.

How about the hot-end temperature? Does it fluctuate a lot when printing? Have you done a PID tune on it?