Help with getting correct first layer

Posted · Help with getting correct first layer

A Picture is worth a thousand words. I just dont know what this is telling me. I am still new to 3d printing, and I dont speak this pictures language.

I am trying to get a good first layer, but I always see this when creating a brim or skirt with more than a few lines. The first few lay down good, then the rest start to bubble and peal uo from the table like in the pic.

Can someone help me diagnose this? I have calibrated my table as best I can, I have calibrated the extruder. Temp is yet to be dialed in, but its close to normal for PLA, around 190, Bed is at 65. Printing on glass, cleaned with alcohol.

I always see this garbage, and it bugs me. Once I get past this first layer, it prints relatively good.

image1.thumb.JPG.9a80bc4dd019e6abdd0f947471564358.JPG

image1.thumb.JPG.9a80bc4dd019e6abdd0f947471564358.JPG

I Noticed my nozzle tip was slightly off level. I must have damaged it when hacking on it a while back. I got a nice new flat one and its printing like a dream. First layer is flawless! I had no idea such a small defect could cause so many problems. Wish I had a pic to show, I tossed it already, but it wasn't that far off.

If you brought the tip to Z0, and looked at the gap between the tip and table, you could see about a .003 gap. Sure is not much, but it made a big problem.

• 1 month later...

Ok, Im back at it. I thought I had it, but something else came up, and I realized I didnt have it.

Im having trouble understanding just what should be happening on a first layer and I am hoping someone here can help clear it up, and maybe steer me in the right direction to nail this first layer.

In Cura, I have set .25mm layer height, .25mm layer First layer height, and wall thickness at .4mm.

So what I did was laid down a single line on the table and stopped the print.