Slow speed on the s5?

bidav

Posted · Slow speed on the s5?

Hi guys I'm new to ultimaker and got a new s5. It prints all very nicely but the speed is very slow. A model that took 7 hours to slice and print on lulzbot mini 2 takes 17 hours on the s5 even with 1 or 2 extruders and on the fastest diameter 0.2. Am I missing something? I did not touch any setting in cura but the default.. 

quick answer #1:  Big printers are designed to print big things.  I hate to say it but ideally you want a small printer for small things and a big printer for big things.  I know this is beyond most people's budget.  Personally I have an S5 and 3 um2go's and I use the um2go's whenever possible.  But if I need support, or I'm printing nylon, or it's something large I will use the S5.

Answer #2: If you are printing big things with the S5 you will hopefully be using the AA 0.8 nozzle with 0.4mm layer height mostly.  Compare that in cura (choose AA 0.8 profile and set layer height to 0.4).

Answer #3: You can almost always tune things and often can cut the print time in half.  I don't know the specifics but a boring cube for example could probably benefit a lot from the gradual infill settings.  Of course that's true for the lulzbot mini as well.

• Like 1

By default the print speed for say PLA is 45 mm/s, Ultimaker have Cura set at that speed to give a better print. Most other software and printers default to 60-70 mm/s, that's one the first settings you can tweak and most parts will still print out just fine and can say you hours.

Using both extruders will add extra time also due to having to move to left one core up and then other back, so if you don't need say PVA supports and happy to just use PLA supports then just use the one. 

Shell count is also something you might be able to cut back on for top and bottom layers and wall thickness, this will also save on filament.