lucabur

Posted · Message: this setting has been hidden ...

Hi, I am a novice in using Cura, and I've installed Cura 4.4. and jusr now 4.5 on Windows 10 64bit machine. My 3D printer is a Creality Ender 5 plus model, having a quite large hot bed, 350x350 mm. I encontered from the beginning serious adhesion problems to the hot bed unitil I got a PEI sheet 300x300 mm (the bigger I found). This drastically improved the quality of the printing jobs, solving the adhesion issue.

But there is a new problem now: the Prime Blob that is printed at the begin of each job is printed outside of the PEI sheet area, and the nozzle height in this position is of course to big, because I tuned it taking into account the PEI sheet thickness.

I tried both these:

• Clearing the "Enabled Prime Blob" option
  • Changing the Prime Blob position with the "Extrude Prime X position" and "Extrude Prime Y position" options

But I can't modify any of these options and a "this setting has been hidden ... message is trying to explain me the reason without actually explaining anything.

Can anyone please explain me why these options are hidden  with a preset fixed value and how to make them available ?

Thanks a lot.

Luca

Posted (edited) · Message: this setting has been hidden ...

I'm using Cura 4.3, so I do'nt see the creality ender5plus but I have the def.json file for the ender5.

Ender5 inherits from creality_base which inherits from fdmprinter for the settings

The fdmprinter.def.json file tells that enabled prime bob has the enabled var to false, which makes it invisible.

This parameter is not overridden by creality_base and ender5

For the ender5plus please check if this param is overridden with enabled=true, if not this params is not visible in cura. Maybe you may override it, i do'nt know this printer, by adding the line in the def.json file

Edited by JCD

3 hours ago, lucabur said: