CPE Weird Print result

stan_bulgaria

Posted · CPE Weird Print result

Hello guys,

Let me apologize for the long introduction first.

I'm completely new to 3d printing. For the last 3 weeks I've been reading Cura tips and Youtube clips how to set my (slicer to slice the) model for a nice looking print result. My printer is Ender 3 V2.

I have a detail, part of an anemometer which I printed with the standard PLA filament that came with the printer. The result was satisfactory. Since some elements of the detail are very thin I encountered "warp" and "stringing". Meanwhile Cura 4.8. came to existaence so I updated some of the settings to fix the problems.

But since the detail has to work in "difficult" environment I chose to use CPE for the final print. The filament is Fillamentum CPE HG100 Black soul. 

I wanted to print a test sample of part of the detail before going for all of it in order to set the printer correctly. Here is where the problems started.

1. Print temperature -

- With the PLA filament I printed at 200 degrees. The initial setting was for 210 degrees but at 200 it had less stringing and printed fine.

- So based on the PLA experience I set the temperature for CPE HG100 to 255 degrees.

2. Plate temperature - I selected 77 degrees.

3. Fan - 70% = 178 rpm

4. In the attached .3mf file you can see the detailed settings.

The result of these settings was disaster. Everything was full of stringing. The model detached from the plate when it reached height of 7-8 mm with the raft. It happened due to material that stuck on the nozzle. I was not watching it at that moment, so no idea was it from the strings that got around the nozzle or some extra material in the infill.

In any case I repeated the trail with new settings of the temperature.

I wanted to find out what is the temperature at which the filament starts to drop from the nozzle. The working temperature recommended by the producer is 255-275 degrees. Heated bed - 70-85.