Massivly overweight prints

GAZZER

Posted · Massivly overweight prints

I have been using Cura for a couple of years now on a CR10-S (sorry).

Currently printing thin wall stuff (3dlabprint). Everything has been fine but suddenly the prints are slicing and printing over 30% heavier.

No profile settings have changed, I have checked everything including all other normal settings.

Currently on 4.6.1 I thought I'd be clever and downloaded 4.8 but that made no difference whatsoever.

I just tested what should be a 19 gram print and it sliced and printed at 30 gm which is a massive difference.

Now at wits end, you are my last resort! 

What on earth could be causing this issue please?

Gary.

Posted (edited) · Massivly overweight prints

If you load the model and go to "File | Save Project" you will get a 3mf file.  Post that here because without knowing your settings we'd be talking apples and oranges.

That particular model is "not watertight" and "...and consists of 19 sub-meshes".

Just playing with it, at .4 nozzle, .2 layer height, 1 bottom layer, Spiralize mode, I get 16grams in 4.8.0.

Edited by GregValiant

Greg, just a heads up all the files on this project come up with the watertight jobby, they are especially designed for thin wall lightweight printing, took me ages tweaking profile to get good prints actually weighing a little less than specified then all of a sudden sliced and printed at actually over 30% heavier.

For example I'm on 105% flow, if I drop that to the normal 100 it makes hardly any difference to weight so the profile must be good. It's almost as though I have told Cura that the filament dia is different, a global issue if you like.

Pics to show you the project.IMG_20210112_122542.thumb.jpg.56958d430ea215241ba16c3c7435a469.jpgIMG_20210112_122558.thumb.jpg.27eb09005a6b4e93ea0827d6224876a1.jpg

Yep.  30 grams at 0% infill.  It is what it is.  I changed material to "generic" PLA.  The weight stayed at 30grams.