5axes plug in for CSV outputs out a semicolon for a separator

ajawamnet

Posted · 5axes plug in for CSV outputs out a semicolon for a separator

He's trying to tell me in a git Issue I filed:

"That's normal . Csv should be export with semicolon as separate. Comma is used in some countries as decimal separator. So use it at parameter separator is not a good idea."

Uh... here's what I wrote back:

No, in a REAL CSV it is NOT NORMAL to use a semicolon as a separator

I've been using CSV files for databases since 1988.  You stating:

"That's normal . Csv should be export with semicolon as separate. Comma is used in some countries as decimal separator. So use it at parameter separator is not a good idea."

is NOT CORRECT.

Wiki article on CSV:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comma-separated_values

Where:
"A comma-separated values (CSV) file is a delimited text file that uses a comma to separate values."

An example of YOUR format:
Section;Extruder;Key;Type;Value
general;0;Date;str;09/04/2021 20:29:55
general;0;Os;str;Windows 10.0.18362
general;0;Cura_Version;str;4.8.0
general;0;Profile;str;P-I10-6N-1h-2w-F30-2HC-B-A-SG25
general;0;Quality;str;Normal

IS INCORRECT - it is a "SEMICOLON SEPARATED FORMAT"  

NOW,  see the wiki article on other delimiter  separated formats:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delimiter-separated_values

As to what a CSV SHOULD LOOK LIKE, here's an example of one of a FEW THOUSAND  CSV FILES I have from ALTIUM that I've generated over the past 30 years:

Part Type,Designator,Footprint
10UF-1206,"C1, C2, C3, C4",1206
B550C-13-F,D1,SMC
1812L300/24SLER,F1,POLYMSMDC
1812L075/33DR,F2,POLYMSMDC
FB-1206,"FB1, FB2, FB3, FB4",1206
PNX1715721,J1,PNXEMKDS2-508

Note the use of double quotes  ( " ) used as a qualifier for fields that include a comma.  Go ahead, bring THAT file into something like Excel, Access, MySQL, or any other database/spreadsheet program and you'll see it imports correctly.

YOURS DOES NOT!!

[gr5 - removed unrelated link]