Filament suppliers for UM2 in the USA

agroski

Posted · Filament suppliers for UM2 in the USA

Hey all, I'm new to the UM2 world and was hoping to find out a little about where people order material from. I am located in the USA and am looking around for reasonably priced filament with consistent results. I was interested in Printbl but it seems they are sold out of almost every color. PrintedSolid also looked promising as they sell Colorfabb's stuff here in the US. Wondering if anyone had any further insight or recommendations! I'm specifically interested in PLA and open to the PLA/PHA I keep seeing around. In addition I am in search of a good clear/transparent filament as well.

Thanks everyone!

• 2 months later...

(Duplicate post)

While I like the DiamondAge PLA, which is monochiral and very hard, I've recently had serious problems due to dirt on the filament in the sealed bags in which I received me coils of white from the US distributor (printbl.com). I've had a series of clogs on my UM2 that are definitely caused by the black specks visible on the white filament inside the sealed bags. (It's not from the extruder - I'm using Robert's, printed in white.)

Further, their US distributor, printbl.com, is offal (sic). They sell PLA only, and typically, currently have only five colors in stock of the 19 listed. They offer white and ivory only in coils, although DiamondAge offers several sizes of spool in White/Ivory (and also offers ABS). To top it off, the printbl.com web site hasn't changed a word in almost two years, and the site has been off the air frequently. It is difficult to tell whether they are really still in business.

Bottom line is that unless and until DiamondAge finds a new U.S. distributor, I cannot recommend the DiamondAge filament, unless you want to pay double to cover International shipping direct from New Zealand.