Help with print quality before I lose the plot

Posted · Help with print quality before I lose the plot

Hi,

I am new to 3d printing not a total idiot but after 2 weeks of messing about with the Ultimaker 2 I need some advise where I am going wrong if at all (limits of the printer).

My ultimaker 2 arrived and without me knowing it the limit switch on the z had been jammed shut

with a wire this caused a lot of aggravation then the fun started material bringing in the feeder ect., I was using ABS and could not get any decent finishes so I went to PLA and still can't get a decent finish even though it starts off fine. I calibrated the bed I print at speed 50 with layer time at about 20 not fast at all but with any overhang at all it is not good even the Robot comes out naff, I have hopefully uploaded this. also uploaded a pic of print of the design for the feeder mechanism from I Robert on the premise that it will cause me problems sooner or later so might swell try printing them. as you can see from the pic again this is messy while in other areas its fine. i purchased the ultimaker todo a specific job but doubt it will do it. I am using the latest firmware and the latest Cura which is being very unfriendly in the printing support areas i Roberts piece had supports turned on everywhere but did not do the 3mm lock nut area.. as you can see it Gold PLA which came with the machine. where I purchased the machine said it might be the colour thats causing me problems (I find that hard to believe YOUR THOUGHTS)

p.s print quality .10

Can anyone help.before I take a hit and sell the machine...

You should post your exact printing specs so others can suggest improvements. Temp and speed play an important role along with other settings.

hi

Sorry for that hear we go

Layer Ht .10

Shell Thickness 1.00

Retraction Enabled

Fill Density 60%

Bot Top Thickness 1.0

Print speed 50

Support Everywhere

Platform Type Brim

Nozzle size 0.4

init layer 0.3

Cut off obj Btm NO