Idiots Guide to building a HOT BED !

ian

Posted · Idiots Guide to building a HOT BED !

Idiots Guide to building a HOT BED !

Hi guys.

I have just finished two big projects today using our two ultimakers for presentation and building test models.

I got some great feedback but one big piece of negative feedback.

all the people complained that the corners of the models are bending up, which is correct.

so i started to look at the official wiki for building a hot bed for the ultimaker... im not an engineer and after reading all the text for 20 minutes, I was so confused. I have really no idea...

I have one little question, why has ultimaker not sold an official hot bed ?

They have done a beautiful job with the ulticontroller ( that should be standard in every ultimaker and not as add on ! )

So I am asking all the members here that have built working hot beds. can you please photograph what you have done and put some information here on the process.

(1) What do i need to buy and where

(2) what do i have to cut, drill and glue

(3) how is it all connected

(4) an how is it controlled.

can some one please help me ?

Many thanks.

Ian :D

Hi Ian,

I am in thesame situation. There has been a post in the google forum from Erik that they will have some announcements at an ultimaker event next moday. He also mentioned that they have three things in their pipeline ( in that order)

Hotend

Extruder

Heated bed

So there will be a heated bed at some stage but i am not sure about the time line.

Recently there has also been a post how to build a heated bed. But there seem to be some disagreement if you need a relay or not. I started looking for some borosilcate glass in my area but was no successfull. All otherparts are either amazon or rep rap parts.

Here is the link to the forum.

https://groups.google.com/forum/m/?from ... uuPDlsAzmU

My approach is to wait until Monday and hopefully they give some idea when these things will be available.