Can I use a smaller nozzle for a high resolution model?

swq0603

Posted · Can I use a smaller nozzle for a high resolution model?

I am new in 3d printing. Now I am just using a 0.4mm nozzle which is fine for some nomal model. But if I print some more detailed models such as the Eiffel Tower. The result is not satisfied. There are many thin parts in it. So I am curious whether a smaller nozzle (0.25) can make a good result for it.

Yes you can get a lot more details with a smaller nozzle. What is hard is overhangs. As the printed strands are a lot smaller they can break off. So models with lots of overhangs are not so good.

Support material breaks off a lot easier with smaller nozzles, so if you need support its great. Using support roof enabled on the new Cura comes out supper smooth and peels off really easy.

I use smaller nozzles all the time and love using them. The only problem is the print time is a lot longer. Not much longer on models like the Eiffel tower as it doesn't have a big base. But you can see how long but changing the nozzle size in Cura.

• Like 1

Thank you Labern. I will try a smaller nozzle later. Now I generally use 0.4 nozzle with the 0.1 layer height. Is there a suitable layer height for each different nozzle to achieve a good result? For example the 0.05 is good for 0.25 nozzle and the 0.2 is good for 0.8 nozzle.

Yeah there kind of is. but its kind of speed and part related.

If you are installing a 0.8mm nozzle It generally means that your not really wanting high details, just fast prints. Most details get rounded off a bit and my last 0.8 nozzle print was at .25 layer and came out pretty good.

For any nozzles smaller then 0.4 you can get a finer details and can lower the layers quite a bit but you don't need to lower the layer heights much. 0.08mm layers look the same on 0.4 and 0.25 nozzle, you just end up with less rounded edges. Things like lettering end up really clear where you may have had gaps if it was 0.4 nozzle.