Big mess, need advice.

brandf

Posted · Big mess, need advice.

My UM3 has been working really well since I got it, and apart from a few bad first layers, I haven't had any major failures.  Until today:

eg1ElWk.jpg

I'm pretty new to 3d printing, so I could use some advice.

1) What's the best way to fix it without causing more damage?  The plastic is rock hard.

2) What would cause such a fail?  Obviously if I caught it sooner, it wouldn't have been as bad, but I'm not sure why the plastic is shooting out from above the nozzle...what's up with that?

3) The rubbery white material that surrounds the nozzle was embedded in a big glob of plastic (not shown in photo), and ripped.  Where can I buy a replacement?

4) Can I take the whole fixture off somehow?  It's hard to remove plastic while inside the printer.

Thanks for your advice.

• Like 1

Posted (edited) · Big mess, need advice.

what filament did you use.

thats not a standard ultimaker filament color.

and what was the settings in the printer, and cura?

it looks like a very bad nozzle leak from printcore1

before trying to fix this, phone ultimaker and ask them.

again it looks like a leak from the heating block of printcore 1.

cleaning this might damage a printcore.

you can remove the whole printcore block out. But check with ultimaker first.

Edited by Guest

I would also recommend to get in touch with your reseller, they should be able to help you. What you could do is use a blow-dryer to warm up the plastics and remove it with some pliers, but in any case I would verify with your reseller first. Maybe they suggest to just replace it.