Settings - starting from scratch with the UM3

Dragon2781

Posted (edited) · Settings - starting from scratch with the UM3

Hi guys,

I'm a little bit disappointed with the print quality of my UM3.

I'm new to the 3D printing topic (since start of this year) and I'm looking for some experienced UM3 professionals here. :)

I made some adjustments in the settings because of bad infill and other issues I have no name for.

But now I want to set everything to default and start from scratch together with your help guys.

I will print a testobject with default settings and make pictures to identify the problems.

Then I want to get rid of the problems one at a time.

My first question before we start: What test object should I use?

Edited by Dragon2781

Posted · Settings - starting from scratch with the UM3

I like these tests and ran them first on my printer. Well, my first was a Batman statue because, well, it was Batman!! Need I say more?

Test 1

Test 2

Test 3

Test 4

They may seem redundant, but each one is different and each one told me something different about my printer and settings. The overhang tests are very good to find the limit of overhang that will print well and with different materials. Some are for thin wall tests with numbers for calibrations, bridging, etc.

All should be printed without support or it will invalidate the overhangs.

Thanks for the links,

I already decided to print something small to have low printing times and not that much waste of material.

I'll print a calibration cube at 100%

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1278865

... and a 3D Benchy at 50% scale.

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:763622

PRINT #00

Default Cura 3.2.1 Settings

Auto Leveling ON (Always)

Latest Testing-Firmware installed

Cube 100% scale

Printing time 00h32min

Benchy 50% scale

Printing time 00h30min

Settings.png

Now I like to identify and name the problems.

Maybe you find even more than me.

Cube_01_Bad_Infill: