What The DfAM?

Posted (edited) · What The DfAM?

I'm Steve Cox, a member of the Utimaker Community.  I'm an experienced engineer having spent many years in the automotive industry but I'm now focussed on the world of 3D technologies, specifically 3D product design and 3DPprinting.  I'm an Autodesk Certified Instructor for Fusion 360, so many of the images in this post are taken from that design software but this post is not specific to that software but is about designing for 3D Printing and Additive Manufacturing.  This is a first of a series of blog posts in this area that will be focussing on how engineering is interacting with the latest 3D technologies.

Additive Manufacturing (AM) and 3D Printing (3DP)  - whilst the way they produce an object from nowhere can often seem like modern-day magic, the truth is that in many ways they are no different to any other way of making things.

Every method that we use to manufacture things has it’s own rules that we need to consider when designing. These rules are known as DFM – Design For Manufacture.

This approach takes into account the pros and cons of the chosen manufacturing method to produce a design that can be made repeatably, reliably and to meet the intended function and life expectancy of the product.

This way of thinking when applied to AM (or 3DP) is now becoming known as DfAM, or Design for Additive Manufacture.

In reality there are two aspects of DfAM, the first we will deal with in this post where we will concentrate on the use of DfAM applied to detail features of the design to ensure manufacturability. The second aspect is using DfAM at the conceptual design to realise some of the unique capabilities that AM has to offer, and that will be covered in a later article.