modeling from a photo

Posted · modeling from a photo

I have a photo of my dog who passed a few years ago. I would like to make a model of him, is it possible and if so, How do I do it. I am very very new to 3D printing, I have an Ender-3 printer and I am just learning it, so any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Ctdigger

I am also interested, for the same reason, but I am not sure if a single photo is enough. And other photos will maybe not work, because it is not just another perspective, but also different background, the dog looks in the wrong direction and so on.

BUT, @cloakfiend has done this a few weeks ago, so maybe he can point us in the right direction.

Posted (edited) · modeling from a photo

Ive done a few of these reconstructions. And ive done my friends dog as well. Normally dog traits are common to the breed so you can use a similar dog for reference and then photos of your own to personalize it with your own dogs features. 

One photo is not really enough to estimate depth, but if you know the breed you can just estimate and use references. Its not that bad. Mine took 6 hours to do. I did a few book front cover recontructions as well. Forest of Doom was my favourite! Its in the what have you made section. 

It really brings out your creativity and makes you think in a logical way! Good fun. But i tried to copy a giger face and whilst the face came out ok(after like 9 hours!) I had no visual reference for the rest and kinda gave up. But then again copying a drawing is much harder as it is fiction, and only one reference of it exists.

I use zbrush to sculpt with, but there are many alternatives and use what whatever programe you are quickest at because...its gonna take you a long time if you havent 3d sculpted before! But if you persist and keep refining your model from all angles, youll get there eventually and will be very happy....and learned a lot on the way!

Edited by cloakfiend

9 hours ago, ctdigger said: