Can I print human portraits using Ultimaker S5 with just photos?

saipradeep7

Posted · Can I print human portraits using Ultimaker S5 with just photos?

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here. Planning to buy Ultimaker S5 and have a question before I can purchase. 

I'm mainly buying this to print human portraits/miniatures using just photos only and will not be able to perform any scanning physically. It will be just using digital photos. Is this possible at all? Please find attached a sample image of 3d printed miniature. I'm looking to produce a similar output.

Has anyone done this before and achieved success. Any suggestions or help will be really appreciated.

Thanks so much! 

Kind regards,

Screenshot 2019-06-24 at 15.34.15.png

No.  Well maybe.

If you are a very good 3D artist, then yes.  If you have studied the human body as an artist for years and have practiced drawing different muscle groups and have sculpting experience, then yes.  You have to learn to use a 3d sculpting cad program like zbrush but yes.

If you are not a seriously amazing artist then you need a lot of photos.  Like 30 to 100 photos of the person.  And they can't move during this time.  There are scanners you can buy that connect to an ipad that will do this - scan a person while you walk around them and capture from up high, midway and down low as you walk around the person to be captured 3 to 6 times.  Or you can build a fancy thing that takes 30 pictures at once with 30 cameras all triggering at the same moment.  Then with those photos there is software that will create the 3d model.

But if all you have is less than 10 photos, or if the person moved while the 10 to 50 photos were taken, then back to my first answer.  No.

By the way, the S5 only does 2 filaments so getting more than 2 colors in your print would be quite difficult but I've seen people do some impressive painting.

Look here for example of what other people have done

As @gr5 says, there are two parts to this: