How to compile Marlin Firmware

ascanio

Posted · How to compile Marlin Firmware

Hello everybody

I've just built my heatbed for my UM1 the relay way ando now need to upgrade my firmwar in order to have it go...

I have never done any firmware operation ever so i am really new to this

I found this interesting topic

http://umforum.ultimaker.com/index.php?/topic/1948-how-to-configure-marlin-firmware-yourself-heated-print-bed-problem/

About configuring Merlin for heatbed, but did'nt understand a couple of thing:

What are the changes needed in the configuration header?

(I have downloaded the ultimaker's fork on github)

I see you have to set the motherboard type (7)

#ifndef MOTHERBOARD

#define MOTHERBOARD 7

#endif

and the thermistor type, but here it comes the first problem:

#define TEMP_SENSOR_0 -1

#ifndef TEMP_SENSOR_1

#define TEMP_SENSOR_1 0

#endif

#define TEMP_SENSOR_2 0

#define TEMP_SENSOR_BED 0

Which one has to be defined with my thermistor number? (the bed one seems the most obvious but u never know..)??

I also see there is a cnfiguration builder:

http://marlinbuilder.robotfuzz.com

But i have no idea what all theese options mean. I just want my UM to work as good as before, but support the Heatbed (btw I have the ulticontroller...)

Any way let's say I have my config file (and what about the advanced configuration, do I need to change them as well??) HOW DO YOU COMPILE?

I understood you want to have a final hex file and upload that to your UM via cura, but how do i get it out of it?

I didn't understant the compiling you have to do with the arduino IDE, nor the "make" command-line. Any easy way to do it?

EDIT I found here an easy step-to-step guide for compiling Merlin firmware

http://www.extrudable.me/2013/05/03/building-marlin-from-scratch/

Thank you very much