Am I only dreaming or may this work somehow?

Posted · Am I only dreaming or may this work somehow?

Hey everyone :)

First off, I have ZERO 3d printing experience as of yet and while waiting for the next 8+ weeks for my UM2 to arrive, I thought I would get familiar with Cura and some of the software suites.

So do you think it would be somehow possible to print this 3D figure with standard PLA on a normal FDM printer or am I only dreaming?

What I was trying to do is using the support structure from Cura (but to my eye it didn't give any useful result). So I tried to create the support structure via meshmixer (3mm thick) and that is what I came up so far :).

I know printing is the only way to find out, but I am pretty sure there are some experinced UM gurus out there who will already see all kind of problems with this and tell me thats not gonna work - and that is exactly why I post it here as I want to get as much knowledge beforehand as possible.

So is this even possible? What problems will I face printing this and why? Is the support structure anything useful at all? Will this even stick on the glass? Well you see I am a complete newb :D

Anime Figure Side

Anime Figure Front

Thanks in advance for taking your time,

Oliver

No reason why not. It might be worth trying the Spiralize option and setting the wall width to .6mm. I have only tried it with .4mm on the Venus de Milo and in two areas it left a small gap. Try it without Spiralize too.

If you try it with Spiralize the boobs should come out fine. Without Spriralise they may or may not require support to get a really good finish

Spiralize is made for vases, not intricate prints like this with lots of islands. The whole reason for spiralize is that it will print a single continuous line without stopping while continuously turning the z-screw. This means there will be no z-scar on the vase.