3D scanners

chrisr

Posted · 3D scanners

Recently found myself looking at 3D scanners suitable for small (inanimate) objects < 0.25 meters square max. Looking for good resolution of ~ 0.1mm or better?

I've no idea of the pros and cons of the various scanning techniques... but two seem quite interesting so far -

Has anyone any practical experience of either of these ?

The David SL-2 scanner:

https://ssl.david-vision-systems.de/shop/product_info.php/language/en/info/p129_DAVID-Structured-Light-Scanner-SLS-2.html/XTCsid/j6i0cfcfc2guet93uaceh7sia4

or the Next Engine system:

http://www.nextengine.com/

If so, how did you get along with them? Any thoughts, opinions most welcome! :-)

Posted · 3D scanners

I have no experience with these two scanners. NextEngine looks pretty cool if it's no fake advertising.

I have a 3D Sense scanner and it's no good for small objects, i like how you can compare scans from different scanners on the website. It's not that expensive

Posted · 3D scanners

I have access to a David scanner. It is a pity that the comparison did not include the David, because they would be similar to each other I guess. All the other scanner are in a different class, in price and quality.

It looks like the Next uses a laser line, and the David uses a beamer pattern to gain the objects surface.

The size is the scanned object for the David goes up to something like 75 cm per scan, could be a bit more. This is limited by the power of the beamer pattern for a bigger distance.

The rotating platform of the Next looks good.

Quality looks the same, I scanned a key and printed it. After a little adjusting, it worked!

2014 08 26 15.42.51

2014 08 26 20.53.29

2014 08 26 21.02.46

2014 09 19 13.28.19

Posted · 3D scanners

I wasn't that impressed with the nextengine scanner. It has the main disadvantage of being a laser scanner, which are quite slow. It does have the advantage of a moving platform, which makes merging clouds a lot easier.