Why don't people recommend Hairspray for PLA?

exforma23

Posted · Why don't people recommend Hairspray for PLA?

I'm new to the UM3 and have a lot of experience with ABS and hairspray for bed adhesion with a prior printer. Since I got the UM3 I've been been printing PLA and have been less than satisfied with how reliable pva glue is. I tried the gluestick, schmearing it around etc. thin coats, thick coat. I tried a 10/1 mix of old fashioned Elmer's glue brushed on.

Keep in mind that I prefer to avoid using a brim if at all possible. Ideally, I prefer to set up my geometry and print settings so that I have no clean-up whatsoever.

Finally, just for the heck of it, I tried the old can of "Aqua Net Extra Super Hold" that I still have from my ABS prints...

EUREKA!

Bed adhesion far superior to glue options, Print is glass smooth on the bottom with not schmear marks. Just pop in into the fridge after is done and it just falls off the glass.

Why is this not the method of choice for use with PLA?

I can't see any downside.

The only downside is that it can stick way too much to the point of actually chipping the glass if isn't properly cold.

I use for pla when I need max fans, since my fans are much more powerful than the um2/um3 ones.

I use this trick to remove the pla/platec/flexibles after using a coat of hairspray

https://ultimaker.com/en/community/33206-greentec-pla-easy-removal-after-hairspray

Posted (edited) · Why don't people recommend Hairspray for PLA?

We do, you must be lookig at the wrong threads:)! I have used PLA/hairspray for 3 years + on a glass bed. I find actually that it is easy to remove a piece even with the plate being warm. I can take it off the bed, set at 60-65, lay it on a table and after 30-60secs it will come off. Ofc that will be affected by your nozzle to plate distance and removing the plate from the printer straightaway has shrinkage implications.

And of course it is so easy to apply, has good longevity and is easy to clean off 8)