Best orientation to print large stand?

markus555

Posted (edited) · Best orientation to print large stand?

Hi all,  I'm new to the Ult 2 and have a large print but before I waste 24+ hours and 200+g of material I am wondering which is the best orientation to print this object.  I was thinking just like it would normally be used in real life, upright with the 4 legs on the base.

but then I was worried about tipping and thought maybe to orient it on its long side as the base?

any recommendations?  Thanks again

Untitled1.thumb.jpg.18febf379e407811dcab4a4d6e2c7c3d.jpg[/media]

Untitled.thumb.jpg.d4eeca9e278fc66e69acce1e6ceb8f32.jpg

Untitled1.thumb.jpg.18febf379e407811dcab4a4d6e2c7c3d.jpg

Untitled.thumb.jpg.d4eeca9e278fc66e69acce1e6ceb8f32.jpg

Edited by Guest

Posted · Best orientation to print large stand?

Hi and welcome,

It's hard to say like that but personnaly i would choose the orientation that will leave less visible marks from the supports so probably the second orientation.

Also if strength is an issue you have to think about the orientation (prints usual weak points are following the lines)

Unless you are driving a car over this I don't think strength is an issue.  A 200 pound human should be able to stand on that I think if it's made out of PLA.  

I agree with Didier though that the second orientation is probably best.  Make sure you look at the part in slice view.  Make sure the bottom layer is squished well and even push with a few pounds of force sideways on the 4 supports to make sure they won't come loose during the print.  You want those 4 legs to stick like hell.

I would use zero support on this part.  Will save you a day or so.  the underside of those arcs will be ugly but you can just file that off in a few minutes.

Consider printing a 1/10th scale version as a test.