upgrading UMO+single extruder to dual ?

Posted (edited) · upgrading UMO+single extruder to dual ?

tumblr_o4wnrfRdRc1rqiwdro6_r3_500.thumb.gif.ad4a0c8ce6e462cb6953a97e3d45395b.gif

Hello, i'd like to upgrade this  t Umo+ single extruder to dual by adding parts , not changing the main extruder head itself .so any designs and information for this ?

tumblr_o4wnrfRdRc1rqiwdro6_r3_500.thumb.gif.ad4a0c8ce6e462cb6953a97e3d45395b.gif

Edited by Guest

Posted · upgrading UMO+single extruder to dual ?

Yea, buy other hotend, buy a more powerfull PSU, use custom firmware. After a few months all will work but will print like crap because both hotends will leak. Then google Mark2, upgrade hotends to UM2, buyin 2 of all, then you can enjoy a dual system, but ofc since the firmware works for um2 screens you will need a um2 screen for 40-80€. Also you will need to change many parts and learn a lot. Is a fun travel, there's no easy way. Have fun!

• Like 2

Hello Migo,

I'm not a expert but i work on a new design in Dual Extrution the Dual Balance system.

At the present time this system work well on a ultimaker 2 and there is some advantage:

1 No need to had other eletronics

2 No need to had other Power supply

3 using the same firmware of the ultimaker original Dual

4 The nozzle who is not active have a special Z level (-1.5mm) in order to protect the already printing things.

You can find some test here :

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2644923

Now i works to change the 12v fan with only 7 mm of thickness.

I don't know the ultimaker original but as mentioned neotko you need to change some things. May be you can find some examples to upgrade your ultimaker original in dual Extruder mode.

• Like 1

Do you have an image/sketch of how your nozzle switching works? All I see is (nice) successful prints, but I am more interested in seeing the mechanism.

• Like 1

Hello Migo,

I'm not a expert but i work on a new design in Dual Extrution the Dual Balance system.