Cannot remove ABS from plate, used Advanced 3D sheet

twiereng

Posted · Cannot remove ABS from plate, used Advanced 3D sheet

OK, newbie here, using my new Ultimaker 2+. I printed a few small things successfully using PLA and the default settings in Cura 2.7.0 for PLA. Didn't change anything in Cura, just went with .4 nozzle and PLA.

Next made a big jump to ABS, a 5.5 x 5.5 inch box with .25 inch walls and 4.25 inches high. Read all about adhesion and I have the advanced 3D printing kit so put down a sheet of their plastic for better adhesion.

I did not enclose the printer with a cardboard box, or custom unit, but will do this next time.

Well now that I look at Cura I note that nozzle for ABS default is .8mm and I used the .4mm - yikes. Things looked good for the first 5-6 days except some of the support was knocked out of place by the nozzle. In two cases where I had a .5 inch hole in a wall the support was completely knocked out after being built up nearly .5 inch. Last night I noticed that some layers were separating and this morning after 8 days the separation was so bad that the nozzle was hitting previous layers because of warp.

So I did an abort, let things cool down and then tried to get the print off the glass plate. Good luck. You can barely get the edges of the plastic sheet off the glass and then it leaves behind the adhesive. As for getting the ABS off this sheet I tried everything including putting it in the freezer and finally hitting it with a hammer several times. No luck. What should I try next, hacksaw maybe?

Those sheets are something else, can't believe how stuck down the print is.

Ok, so my questions are:

1. What settings, nozzle, should I use for default ABS? I purchased my from Dynamism.

2. Why is the support structure being knocked out of place?

3. What should I put on the plate for adhesion, I'll never use those sheets again. I selected Support and Build Plate adhesion.

4. How do I get this large piece of ABS off the sheet?