How does "make overhang printable" work?

printing3D

Posted · How does "make overhang printable" work?

Hello! I am looking to understand how the "make overhang printable" feature works in Cura. Any suggestions on how I can get to the source code that implements that feature? I understand that Cura is open source and the source code is available on Github, but I am having trouble finding the appropriate location for this part of the code. I am a PhD student and would like to implement a similar algorithm for my research. Apologies if this has already been answered elsewhere, but I looked and couldn't find anything. Would really appreciate any help! 

9 hours ago, printing3D said:

Hello! I am looking to understand how the "make overhang printable" feature works in Cura.

Poorly 😉 (I'm still convinced that the function shouldn't be in Cura, and it causes a lot of bugreports from people that enable it without knowing what it does). I obviously don't know what you are using it for, but is this really what you need?

Cura goes into 2D as fast as possible by slicing. From that point on it pretty much does everything on 2d polygons. So almost all operations that we do are subtracting polygons from other polygons and inset & offset them.

• Like 1

Posted (edited) · How does "make overhang printable" work?
    2 hours ago, nallath said:

I obviously don't know what you are using it for

I enjoy the feature. Sometimes, when I am printing without supports (designed that way) there may be times that I have inadvertently put an angle here or there that would create an issue when printing. The 'make overhang printable' lets me turn that on without ruining the whole print as well as means I do not have to go back into sculpting the piece. I would say that it has to do more with artistic prints than engineering though.

Shape before slicing. You can see the hollows in the scooped areas.

RedAreas.thumb.jpg.cc814cf0797033252c55a5286bd464c3.jpg