new user confusion - messy bottom half of print

Posted · new user confusion - messy bottom half of print

Hi,

I've had my UM2 for a month now so i'm still relatively new to 3d printing. I'm trying to print this voronoi chess set as a gift:

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:182824

but every time I try, the bottom half comes out looking very messy, it just looks a bit clumpy. I've tried a slower speed, higher temperature, lower temperature, different resolutions (0.1 and 0.2), but every time the lower parts look very messy. Im printing with white PLA. Im also printing the model at 0.4 times the original size because the original model is huge for a chess piece.

I'd really appreciate any help?

thanks

Pictures of your failed prints together with the settings used would help.

But, if I were to have a guess I'd say lowering the bed temperature is a good bet. If you haven't changed it I believe it defaults to 70 or 75C which is way to hot IMHO (I'm assuming you're using PLA). Try 60C. Or you might even get away with a cold bed and glue if the pieces are small.

This is probably a bit of a difficult print for a beginner. Did you print some simple cubes or test pieces to see if these come out fine?

It helped me a lot for my first prints to just watch the printer do it's work on a simple thing where I could actually see if the result was what I expected. It's easier to get everything well adjusted with a simple form like a cube, because you'll see very quickly if it comes out nice or not.

Jonny is right, that is pretty difficult geometry for a beginner to print. You might want to first get this calibration set and see how you go printing these - http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:5573.

But you probably do not want to wait- birthdays do not J

I was thinking of printing this chess set. If I did I would start with…

Layer height: no more than 100 microns, probably 50 if I can wait that long

Speed: probably 15 m/s, might try 20m/s first