Printing Guide

Labern

Posted · Printing Guide

Hi, I'm new to 3D printing and just received my New Ultimaker 2 a few days ago.

After a few trials and printing various items with varied results. I had been reading heaps of posts here on the forum.

I have found some good information but I was wondering if anyone knows of a good book to recommend or any documented format that explains how different settings can effect different prints?

Something that has a basic explanation of material properties, causes of common problems and how to solve them.

Also after looking at the settings in Cura things like wall thickness and speed variances between infill and outer layers. it Has a guide but would like to know a bit more of the background of why these cause differences to the finished results.

Posted · Printing Guide

Actually Robert (IRobertI) has a great guide that he will be publishing within a day or two. It's very visual (lots of photos).

Hi gr5

Thanks for the great info. you do really provide some really great stuff on this forum. I had started some trials of my own and your info will save me some time.

I will also look forward to seeing Robert's guide.

It would be good to start something on wiki but I don't know anything at this stage so it would be very empty.

Posted · Printing Guide

+1 on this.

The forum is full with very valuable information, it would be great to have all the good tips centralised somewhere

Posted · Printing Guide

+1 The forum is great but getting a overview on all the good tips and trick takes hours.. A wiki would help quite bit.

Posted · Printing Guide

We could also have a section for the UM1 printable/cheap improvements to increase printing quality (such as direct drive which recycles the stock UM1 rods and just requires motor couplers)

Posted · Printing Guide

I was at the UM Evening a couple days back. When they heard I was a fairly recent addition to the community they asked me what I thought could really be improved.