Printing a Nylon part with dissolvable PVA as support material

Posted · Printing a Nylon part with dissolvable PVA as support material

Hello,

I am new to printing with Nylon, but I heard it is best/strongest for production parts, so I am testing it out. I am trying to use PVA as a support material and then dissolve it away afterwards. However, Nylon is hydroscopic so I am having issues. At first, the PVA dissolved away fine and the print worked well. After a few days, the nylon (which I now assume had water absorbed internally still) became very soft and weak and broke very easily.

My question is, if I want to use Nylon with a PVA support material, can I soak the print in water, and then dry in it an oven right after and not lose any strength? Or is it a case of Nylon never having the same strength after soaking it in water, therefore making Nylon and PVA an incompatible print combination.

ABS warps a bit too much for some of the parts I am using. PLA seems a bit too weak. I also have CPE, but my understanding is that CPE is used more for high temp applications.

Thanks for any advice or tips in advance!

Taylor

Nylon and ABS are a whole level harder to work with than PLA. It took me about 100 prints to feel really comfortable with PLA and then another 100 to feel comfortable with ABS. I'm still not comfortable with Nylon.

I have printed nylon with pva support and that works very well. Even better than pla with pva support. I soaked the part for about 24 hours and it did not affect the nylon in a bad way at all. I did not dry the nylon in an oven or anything. Besides it only takes a day or so to reabsorb water from the air.