Nylon thick stringing at all temps

johnse

Posted · Nylon thick stringing at all temps

I'm still fairly new to this but I've started printing with Nylon for some pieces. I'm using Ultimaker Nylon (natural) using the default profile--typically at .1mm, sometimes at .15mm layers (AA 0.4 printcore).

I get a lot of thick strings/nubs on the parts whether I'm printing with or without support material and whether using PVA or Breakaway support. I also notice occasionally a brown color to the nylon--often on the prime blob.

I thought I might be printing too hot, though the standard template for .1mm layers uses 245C. Last night I printed a temperature tower running from 255 - 220 in 5 degree steps. 255-240 printed successfully--but with lots of the thick strings. 235 started to print but broke off midway through the layer and then it was just a cloud of filament-on-air... So definitely cannot print below 240 degrees :)

The top of the anvil is where the 235 section broke off. I'm not worried about that. It's all of the thick strings throughout the tower. It's a little hard to read the temps, but they are 240, 245, 250, and 255 top-to-bottom. Also notice in the overhangs you can see some of the brown discoloration at several levels.

These nubs have to be cut off which is a pain especially on some threaded parts. They also often get embedded in support material and vice versa. Breakaway tends to like making little curly cues that break off or get embedded in the part material.

Do I need to play with retraction? More/less cooling? I keep my filament in a dry box except when printing (planning to make a print-from-dry-box setup) but as you can see from the brim, the filament goes down nice and clear. I saw some other posts talking about oozing between material changes, but I get the same issues whether I use a prime tower or not, and of course the temperature tower was printed by itself with no support.

nylon-tower-1.jpg

nylon-tower-2.jpg

nylon-tower-3.jpg