Want to order an UM2 - but I have a few questions...

lord-devil

Posted · Want to order an UM2 - but I have a few questions...

Hello everyone :)

First off, I am relatively new to 3d printing. While I have followed the ongoing happenings in this sector, I never 3d printed myself. However I have read a lot of books and got a lot of information from the internet... so I finally want to start myself and buy a 3d printer.

That lead me to the Ultimaker 2 - since I myself am no real tinkerer... I waited for a machine that would be customer friendly and easy to maintain. It looks like the UM2 mostly fullfills this.

I have also read through several other devices in this price range, from makerbot to zortrax and other closed systems but it appears to me that UM2 fits me best.

Still there are a few gripes that stop me from finally clicking the Buy button... :)!

I have read that there are several problems with underextrusion as well as some other minor gripes - from what I hear every popular product is facing issues.

But will it be easy for a beginner to do the maintance yourself - I mean, its a lot of money to spend here and who wants to send it back and force just to fix a clogged nozzle etc... So I wonder how much knowledge you need to do basic tasks? How user friendly are those printers by now?

And regarding a few of the current issues a few people are facing, are most of those issues fixed by now? So when joining the long queue of shipment can you expect to get a brand new product from the latest revision?

In closing I wonder what would be the best filament to order for the UM2 - the one from the ultimaker or are there better ones out there like colorfabbs etc.?

Thanks in advance for your help, kind regards,

Oliver

Hi, Oliver, and welcome.