Which 3D Design application do you use?

Posted · Which 3D Design application do you use?

MOI 3D, It's OK and relatively cheap ($300US), better for organic models. Otherwise, the free version of DesignSpark Mechanical. On the plus side, it's free and is good for more mechanical designs. However, it is missing some things like loft/blend, you need to use a hack to edit STEP files and it will sometimes refuse to do things like make or remove rounds/bevels....

http://moi3d.com/

http://www.rs-online.com/designspark/electronics/eng/page/mechanical

Anyone use 123D Design???

Im new to 3D modelling and am tempted with the above??

I have tried 123D Design and found it very limited.

Autodesk also has Fusion 360 (for which we qualifiy for Free use). Fusion is a very capable modeling program.

http://fusion360.autodesk.com/pricing

I have also used Creo Elements Direct/Express. This is also quite capable, but quite unlike other CAD programs, so it has a high learning curve.

I don't like the way I have to be online to use Fusion though, although it looks like a good package, I will only ever use it at home and don't want all the cloud features.....

I use openscad for more technical drawings. For the organical stuff I do like meshmixer a lot. I try to use it at least once every week, by taking small steps everytime I discover new possibilities. I find openscad the easiest/quickest to learn if you have a programming background. By-the-way. On meshmixer a series of 101 manuals are on youtube, these will take you further into the basics.

Using Autodesk 123D Beta, but you have to search for an old version. The newer ones are to limited.

But you have to be logged in to write stl's. Normal drawings can be saved off-line.

I use Rhino5 for more complex shapes.