Lubrication?

Posted · Lubrication?

I'm new to Utilimaker. My engineering students are just finishing building the unit. I am not an engineer.

I was thinking about the accuracy of the print head positioning. I see several blocks sliding over metal rods. I got to wondering if a small amount of stiction between the sliding parts could cause tiny variations in the acceleration / deceleration of the printer head, leading to very small variations in the final resting position and hence, cumulative inaccuracies.

There are some new, high-tech lubricants out there which may leave no residue to accumulate, to grab dust particles and actually do more harm than good.

:?:

I wonder if I am thinking in the right direction, has anyone else thought about this or experimented with additional lubrication of the moving parts?

Alan

Posted · Lubrication?

This won't affect the print quality at all as the steppers motors always move a certain amount of steps. If it is not well lubrificated the motors will use a bit more current but they will give the same precision.

Think of it like this: you can climb the stairs for 10 steps and then do the same thing carrying a shopping bag. In both cases you made 10 steps. Of course there's a limit: you can't climb the stairs with a bag which weights 1000kgs and for the same reason the motors may not be able to move correctly if there is not enought lubrification, but that's unlikely to happen and in any case you'll notice that easily as you would see the object built completely wrong.

Posted · Lubrication?

My machine needs lubrication right now. I don't have quality problems, but when I try to move the printer head faster then 150mm/s it starts to miss steps. Other then that it runs fine. Lubrication should also protect your machine from wear, so it's always a good idea to keep it lubricated.

Posted · Lubrication?